eye of the cyclone

is there life on earth, or are we just dreaming…

  • USING THIS SITE

    SEARCH BOX: If a search engine brought you here, but you can't see what you are looking for, or if you want to find other entries with the same (or differerent) 'key words' try the SEARCH BOX! or check out the ALL POSTS! button in the MENU BAR at the top of the page

The Emma Woods Hoax

Posted by irisheaven on September 21, 2011

Emma Woods (not her real name) is from New Zealand (?) and  in her late forties.  If you follow in any way, the world of UFO Research, you would know her nom de plume because she is centre to a controversy which involves the preeminent Alien Abduction Researchers (so called) and particularly David Jacobs, in fact her involvement with him has basically destroyed his credibility and any ongoing activity in the field he may have expected for his future.

Emma Woods put a YouTube video out showing ‘anomalous’ body marks she says she wakes up with, i.e.. she goes to bed and there’s nothing there, then wakes up and she has bruises and other marks etc over her body.  She contends that this is ongoing in her life.  She has related, now on several media outlets, her life-long involvement with anomalous events including meeting beings and being given artefacts.

Ms Woods spent five years being hypnotised by Jacob’s (over the phone!) generating ‘Alien Abduction’ stories for him – apparently this material was going to be used for a future book.  Eventually, according to Woods, Jacob’s madness and unethical behaviours became so rampant that she realised that the material she was generating probably wasn’t real and that Jacob’s methodology had probably affected her mind and memories.  She broke off with him and set up a website containing many recordings of her sessions and other conversations with Jacobs showing clearly that he was a deceitful, manipulative and crazy individual.

Prior to starting ‘work’ with Jacobs, and during, she had the help/advice of an apparently qualified ‘Therapist’ in her home town.

Woods’ website displays someone who is very sharp, organised and writes with lucidity and understanding.

Woods’ has never released her real name, her location, her therapists’ name, or any other details publicly.  She states that Jacobs’ does have that information.   Jacobs has commented on her ‘mental’ stability and character – obviously in a derogatory way.

The whole story, for me, has so many Red Flags flying that I am convinced that most of the reality of it all, is hidden beneath the surface.  What Woods has said publicly is only a tiny part of the whole reality.

Firstly: Anyone who undergoes hypnotism on the phone with the view that it is ok is retarded.

Secondly: Any so called qualified  ‘therapist’ who even tacitly accepts this, is retarded.

Thirdly: Five years, is a hell of a long time to work with such an obviously deluded individual (Jacobs).

Emma Woods, judging from her media interviews, the mp3’s of conversations with Jacobs’ on her website and her website in general, is not retarded and in fact she is incredibly focussed.  For example, she is very careful not to reveal pertinent information that could in any way identify her and when she is on an interview she doesn’t miss a beat, never makes a mistake, a slip, she’s never backward in coming forward to state she will not answer a particular question because it may identify her (or her family) in any way.

On her website there are conversations with Jacobs, after it went bad between them, and she is not a shrinking violet and does not seem to be intimidated by Jacobs in any way shape or form.  On the other hand in all her interviews she comes across as ‘timid’ with this quiet little ‘mouse voice’ that emphasises her ‘vulnerability’. When the story broke on the internet she could be found on forums arguing her case in a clear, precise and cogent manner- her ‘textual voice’ is clear and loud.

Then there’s the whole problem of hypnotism by phone.  Her whole story is based on the reality of ‘being hypnotised’, in some sort of Svengali type situation – you know the sort of thing,

image Ladies who suddenly see “eyes” in their rooms which float in the air and fascinate them and which they follow from street to street and at the end arrive at the house of a certain Oriental to whom the eyes belong. Or people who, in the presence of the same Oriental, suddenly feel he is looking right through them, seeing all their feelings, thoughts, and desires; and they have a strange sensation in their legs and cannot move, and then fall into his power to such an extent that he can make them do everything he desires, even from a distance.  All this and many other stories of the same sort had always seemed to me to be simply bad fiction. People invent miracles for themselves and invent exactly what is expected from them.  It is a mixture of superstition, self-­suggestion, and defective thinking, and, according to my observation, these stories never appear without a certain collaboration on the part of the men to whom they refer. P.D. Ouspensky, In Search Of The Miraculous.[my emphases]

  Recent research has shown that weight loss and cessation of smoking, both popularly advertised as curable by hypnotism, cannot be accomplished without the earnest desire of the sufferer to achieve the desired resultsource

Woods writes on her website: “I have an agnostic view of these cultural explanations; I am neither a ‘believer’ nor a ‘skeptic’.”  She doesn’t seem to have the requisite ‘internal pressure of belief’ for even normal ‘hypnotism’ to be effective let alone as crazy as Jacobs’ was.

If Woods was in effect simply engaging in the ‘game’, generating the expected material in awareness that she was inventing….well then, who was the victim?   Is there any evidence that she consciously ‘hoaxed’ Jacobs?  Yes there is.

Woods has admitted, that she sent AOL Instant Messages to Jacobs in the guise of being a Hybrid Alien.  On her website she goes to great lengths to claim that these were done in a ‘sleep state’ without her conscious ‘will’ being involved.   In other words she wrote the messages, they weren’t from hybrids, but she didn’t do it on purpose.  In a word, a ‘convenient’ excuse.  But it is important that this episode be characterised in this way because otherwise it shows Woods’ being deceptive, and hoaxing.

I don’t buy for one second the idea that Woods is a ‘victim’ of some Svengali – hypnotism doesn’t work like that.  I think it was more of a commercial relationship gone bad.  For better or worse Alien Abduction books and the lecture circuit used to be lucrative.

phone hypnosis.

.

.

.

.

DAVID JACOBS under the Headline, The Defamation Campaign wrote the following in april 2010

Since 1986 I have helped some 150 people who have reported suspected UFO abduction experiences recover their memories of these events. Most of these people have been grateful that they had the opportunity to gain intellectual and emotional control over situations that have intruded upon their lives since they were children. 

            I have met all of these people face to face, except one.  The one exception is the woman who is mounting the defamation campaign against me.  I call her “Alice” in this essay. I have never met her because she lives in another country, 8,000 miles away.    

 

The Beginning

Alice’s therapist first wrote to me about his client in 2002.  He was convinced that quite unusual things had happened to her and he was writing on her behalf because she wished to remain anonymous.  She had wanted to get in touch with me or with Budd Hopkins to try to help her explain some of these events.  A few months later she contacted both Budd Hopkins and me directly.  After series of phone conversations with her in late 2004, she sent us large boxes of identical material on her case. There were over 700 pages covering in detail a vast amount of intimate information about herself and her unusual experiences.  The material spanned a period of years. Some of the material was typed, some was handwritten, and some was on scraps of paper. Upon Alice’s request, her therapist had signed each description of an unusual experience in order to authenticate it. On some pages the therapist’s signature appears as many as five or six times. 

I had never received such an overwhelming amount of information. Apparently her habit of extreme information mega-sharing is an ongoing one, as anyone presently receiving her massive e-mail defamation campaign against me can attest. 

My first reaction to Alice’s request for help was to be wary of working with someone so far away and who seemed overly obsessed with her possible UFO experiences. Still, I was sympathetic to Alice’s situation.  Because I knew no one who was familiar with the UFO abduction phenomenon where Alice lived, I decided to try to help her. I could conduct memory recovery via telephone. Hypnotists widely use the telephone to work with clients at a distance. Of course, telephone communication alone is not optimal because the hypnotist can’t observe the person’s facial expressions and deportment, both of which can help indicate emotional problems.       

Before I continue, it’s important to explain how I work. I’m not a psychologist, psychiatrist, or psychotherapist. My work with UFO abductees is focused on helping them recover and understand their memories. I’ve been researching abductions and working with potential abductees since 1986. I spend many hours over a period of months, even years, with each person who seeks out my help. The possible abductee can stop seeing me at any point.  I don’t charge for my services.  In fact, in some situations—Alice is one example–I’ve donated video and audio recording equipment to potential abductees. If the potential abductee is seeing a therapist, my standard procedure is to ask the possible abductee to talk to the therapist about whether there is potential for harm. Memory recovery of abduction experiences can elicit a great deal of emotional and psychological turmoil.

It’s also important to understand Alice’s circumstances. When I began to work with her in December 2004, she shared the information that she was 43 years old, divorced, and had no children, few friends, and virtually no social life. She lived alone in a two-room apartment. She didn’t work and was on disability for “allergies.”  I assume she is still in this situation.

            As a first step, I normally require a person’s therapist to agree to the process. In Alice’s case though, her ex-therapist was aware of what was happening from the beginning and later wrote to me that doing hypnosis over the phone was, in his opinion, “unlikely to be harmful.”  He did not monitor her formally, but if he noticed any harmful effects in the contact he had with her, he stated he would mention them immediately.

 

 Bizarre Behavior

When I started to work with Alice she seemed reasonable and intelligent, and she sounded articulate. But I gradually began to suspect that she was suffering from deep-seated emotional problems as her behavior became more and more bizarre.

One example is her telephone calls to me. Alice had an arrangement in which she could make calls to the United States for a very small fee. When we first started working together, she limited her calls to scheduled sessions; but as our time of working together neared the end, she called twice, three times, and sometimes five times a week; as her behavior deteriorated, she called as many as five times a day. It was difficult to get off the phone with her.  It seemed that she had boundary issues.  Alice finally agreed to limit her calls to two a week, but that limit didn’t last very long and soon she started calling more frequently.  My family remarked on the inappropriateness of her behavior. I began to realize that her behavior indicated that she was growing more obsessed as time went on. I haven’t experienced this kind of troubling behavior in all the years I’ve been working with men and women who describe possible UFO abduction experiences.    

            Another example of Alice’s troubling behavior comes from her interactions with her alleged abductors. In the following section I provide some context to make this clear.  

 

Reported Threats from her Abductors

Some information is needed to fully understand the reported threats.

First, some background on Alice’s abductors:  From the beginning of our sessions, she described human-looking aliens (“hybrids”) who were visiting her almost on a nightly basis. Abduction researchers have heard accounts of such hybrid beings since the early 1980s, and over the years a number of abductees have indicated to me that hybrid activity had increased dramatically.  

Second, some background on Alice’s “Record,” as she called it: For a number of years she had been regularly keeping a “diary” in which she wrote about her ongoing unusual experiences. Early on I invited Alice to put her Record on my website. I thought it would be instructive to others to learn how one person recovered memories through both conscious recall and hypnosis sessions. Alice accepted the invitation. I agreed to edit her material, and my website manager “Elizabeth,” who empathized with Alice’s situation, generously offered to do the necessary programming free of charge.  It was no small task dealing with her text, graphs, illustrations, and charts but we felt that we were helping.     

One set of threats was directed at writing her Record. According to Alice, the hybrids visiting her conveyed displeasure that she was keeping a record.  She told me that these hybrid beings wanted her to stop writing about her experiences. Of the 50 abduction events that occurred after we started working together, 32 of them included warnings from her abductors about writing her Record.   

            A second set of threats was directed at her working with me. Alice reported that when her abductors discovered she was talking to me, they showed serious concern and wanted to know everything about me.  They began to pressure her intensely to stop working with me.  She said her abductors threatened her with physical punishment if she did not comply with their wishes; later she described the actual physical violence they committed against her for not obeying them.  She also told me about threats that her abductors made against me directly; these threats included scenarios in which I was dead.  Of the 50 abduction events that occurred after we started working together, 24 of them included warnings from her abductors about working with me.  

            In October 2006 I began to receive aggressive e-mails from her e-mail address–Alice said she did not remember writing them.  In all, I received 31 e-mails with 12 different messages, all forceful and disturbing.  I also received hang-up calls in the middle of the night–nine in one early morning at 3:00 am and five in another early morning. Alice maintained that she did not know who was e-mailing or calling but she was able to trace the e-mails to her own computer and some of the phone calls to her phone.  Regardless of whether actual hybrid beings were the source, the situation was becoming intolerable for me.

            I felt in a bind. On the one hand, to Alice her Record was a lifeline; she told me that it was so important that if she had to stop writing it, she would simply give herself over to her abductors and stop mentally fighting to maintain her independence. On the other hand, there was my well-being and the ominous threats from the hybrids, if true.  It seemed to me that stopping our sessions might be the best thing for me and my family; yet I felt that I could not leave Alice without support.

 

Meltdowns—And Rage

            It was at this time (around October 2006) that Alice began to show signs of having an emotional breakdown, which I thought might be related to the e-mails and phone calls. She called these incidents “meltdowns.”  Because my family, my website manager, and I were feeling anxious, I told Alice that in order to calm things down, I had decided not to update her Record with new material for the upcoming week. She flew into a rage–crying and angrily accusing me of making decisions about her life without her input.  To me, her response was irrational: It was my website; I was trying to help both of us.  But she was so distraught that I acceded to her wishes and continued posting her Record as before.

            This exchange marked the beginning of a complex series of events concerning her Record and my website. Alice’s meltdowns became more frequent. During a few of these incidents, Alice told me that she had suicidal thoughts. This led me to immediately contact her ex-therapist, relate what she had said, and ask him to look in on her even though she no longer had a professional relationship with him. He assured me she was not suicidal. But for me it was a worrisome new aspect of her mental state.

               If the situation Alice reported was true and actual “hybrid beings” were threatening her, I felt I had to try to protect her from them. And obviously if Alice’s reports were true, I had to try to protect myself as well.  If abduction research can be trusted, alien beings have telepathic abilities and know what people are thinking; therefore, protecting both Alice and myself was a major challenge.   

               I thought long and hard about what, if anything, I could do. I decided that one approach would be, during hypnosis, to give Alice ideas to think about that would throw “mind-readers” off my trail.  I explained my thinking to her before I acted. Then at one point during a hypnosis session I told her that as a researcher I was interested not in abductions but in multiple personality disorder. I chose this because it is believable–the disorder has characteristics in common with the effects of abductions. I hoped that she would be able to keep this idea in her mind and convey it to her abductors, thereby relieving some of the pressure both she and I felt.  At no time did I think that Alice had multiple personality disorder, and of course neither did she.  She knew exactly what was happening and why.  

               In hindsight, I realize that Alice’s reports of alleged alien threats and physical abuse resulted in a heightened sense of urgency that led me to act quickly, perhaps too quickly. As it turned out, the multiple-personality-disorder ploy I invented as a defense was useless.  Although the ploy was an ineffective defense against her alleged tormentors, ironically it has become an effective weapon against me. Through selective editing and misleading claims, Alice has turned it on its head and is using it to defame me.

 

My Decision

               By January 2007, Alice was beginning to become more erratic, more fragile, and even paranoid.  She was acting in a way that was well beyond my expertise, and she seemed to be spiraling out of control.  Even though I still wanted to help her, I knew that I couldn’t and had to extricate myself from the situation. We stopped working together in February 2007. 

               I told the story of my work with Alice to a mental health professional, who advised me to stop all communication with her immediately.  Unfortunately, I didn’t take that advice because I failed to understand at the time the destructiveness that would ensue. I continued to answer her calls for a few more months, not conducting hypnosis sessions but talking with her about her situation. It was a grave mistake.

            During those few months before our work together ended, Alice came to believe that Elizabeth had duped me and turned me against her.  In fact, I had been duped—not by Elizabeth but by Alice. During the last few calls that I had with Alice I learned that she had been secretly taping every private phone call she made to me outside of the hypnosis sessions. She tried to wiggle out of the revelation by proclaiming–falsely–that she had asked me if it was okay and I had said yes.  Although I was amazed and angry that she had done such a thing, I foolishly talked with her at least two more times.  

            I investigated the legality of the secret tapes. The attorneys advised me that the legal methods available were expensive, lengthy, and would yield almost nothing, even if I prevailed. I decided the best way to proceed would be to finally take the mental health professionals’ advice and never, ever, communicate with her again.  I have not responded to her phone calls or e-mails since June 2007.  I have never revealed her real name or even her pseudonym in public.  In fact, I have never spoken in public about the problems I had with her. Yet since 2007 Alice has dedicated herself to destroying my reputation by writing defamatory letters and essays about me.     

           

Cyber-Stalking

Alice started her defamation campaign in late 2007 or early 2008 by joining Internet UFO forums and urging the members to visit her new website against me (she abandoned one I had bought for her in late 2006).  She also began cyber-stalking me. She discovers when and where I’m to be interviewed or speak in public. She then sends the host of the show or the directors of the organization a defamatory e-mail in which she accuses me of being irresponsible, unethical, and a dupe. She outlines my alleged crimes and misdemeanors, along with those of my website manager. She falsely charges that I even threatened her family!  She manipulates interviewers into e-mailing her if I should ever mention her name.   Her e-mails have evolved from several pages into diatribes that are twenty pages long or even longer.

 

Escalating Her Campaign

After a year of limited success in convincing people to visit her new website on which she posts her diatribes against me, Alice escalated her campaign in October 2008 by writing a formal complaint to Temple University, my employer of 35 years.  In her complaint she not only charged that I had threatened her family but that I had psychologically abused her as well.  She included a large number of materials and a list of questions for the Temple investigators to ask me.  Nearly all of the questions focused on whether I had mentioned her name at talks I had given, to friends of mine in private conversations, to acquaintances of mine, to colleagues of mine, to my literary agent, and so forth.  She also wanted to know whether I had a manuscript or a book about her. Because the complaint was formally filed, Temple University was forced to investigate.   I was called in and answered the questions.   Temple found no improprieties and sent Alice a letter saying so.  Her response was to conclude that Temple was engaged in a “cover up.”    

            Getting no satisfaction from Temple University, Alice apparently decided to escalate her vengeful defamation campaign further. She put together a package of materials that is staggering in its quantity.  I was told that the dossier has over 150 pages.  It contains out-of-context snippets of illegally recorded phone conversations, out-of-context sections of confidential hypnosis sessions, and any other false information that would put me in a bad light.  In October 2009 she went so far as to send the dossier and a complaint to the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)!  In this complaint she added a new accusation—that I led her to false memories. Because it was a formal complaint, the HHS was required to begin an investigation at Temple University.  Ultimately, the HHS found that the situation was not within its jurisdiction and took no further action.

            After being unsuccessful with Temple University and the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Alice took a more personal approach.  In late January 2010, she e-mailed the dossier to every member of the Temple University Department of History, even including retired members.  The Chair of the History Department forwarded her material to the University’s legal department (her e-mails fit the Pennsylvania criminal harassment statutes). Temple also sent her a letter saying it would no longer respond to her.

            Gaining no satisfaction from HHS, Temple, or the History Department, Alice expanded her campaign even further in early 2010 by sending her dossier to every member of the UFO and abduction community that she could find in the English-speaking world.  I do not know how many dossiers she sent out, but it seems to be hundreds.

 

Breaking My Silence

This is the first time that I’m publicly addressing Alice’s destructive behavior. I’m doing so upon the urging of friends and colleagues and because of her false allegations impugning my competence and even my sanity.  Although I could write a multitude of pages, provide broad documentation, and prove without a shadow of a doubt that her charges are defamatory, it would most likely lead to more defamation on her part.  The truth is not her goal. 

What is Alice’s goal? Why is she deliberately trying to discredit me?  To find an answer to these questions, I’ve consulted confidentially with a variety of psychologists, psychiatrists, and therapists.  The overwhelming consensus is that Alice’s stalking and obsessive behavior is consistent with Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD), although these medical professionals cannot, of course, make a formal diagnosis without seeing her.  According to the experts and the medical literature, people who have this emotional disturbance can be “persuasive blamers” who sometimes engage in “vilification campaigns” in which they try to defame and even psychologically destroy the object of their obsessive hatred through information that is specifically selected for that task.  An obsessive person with perceived psychological injuries often plays the victim while victimizing his or hertarget—and in my experience with Alice, this is exactly what she has been doing.  I do not know whether she has BPD or not.  What I do know is that I am the target of her obsession.   

            The only motive I had when I worked with Alice was to help her make sense out of what she says are painful and disturbing experiences and to learn from them.  I worked with her as long as I could, but in the end I was unable to help her.  Her problems ultimately went beyond my abilities.  Other researchers, including abduction researcher and Harvard psychiatrist John Mack, have had their own seriously problematic people, although this seems to be a very small population. 

This is the first time in my work with possible abductees that I have experienced anything like this.  I know that as a consequence of writing this essay, Alice will most likely find a way to take every word out of context and twist its meaning, send out yet more e-mails, and stalk me more intensely than she did before. If she does have a severe emotional disorder, I will probably be the target of her obsession for many more years.  Alice’s constant attacks, built upon a wonderland of defamatory accusations and coupled with selective “evidence” from secretly taped phone conversations and from hypnosis sessions, are extremely distressing to me and to my family.  We personally are all suffering because of her.  I think that, sadly, Alice has done a disservice to abduction research and to abductees everywhere.   

            I sincerely hope that Alice will one day receive the help she so obviously needs.  This is my last word on the subject. I will have nothing more to say about her again.

 

This is a very short account of my working relationship with Alice.  Issuing this statement is contrary to the advice I’ve received from the many mental health professionals I’ve consulted on the subject: They have told me not to respond to her in any way. For more information on vilification campaigns, please see Stop Walking on Eggshells, by Paul T. Mason and Randi Kreger.

April, 2010

Emma

Digitalseance

Submitted on 2011/10/13 at 4:54 am

The Saga of David and Emma ( outline for a fictional movie based on a true story)

A story of a couple innocent Adult kooks having fun talking to eachother on the phone and making up wild stories based on the suggestion and leading of David and the active imagination of Emma. For two years. David had a history of doing this and then writing fictional books labelled non-fiction based on this ‘fun’ and he was very, very successful. Emma was a new recruit into this ‘writing club’, and if all had gone well she would have been the next co-author.

They would talk for hours and hours on the phone to eachother developing these fantasies.

There was always an element of fetishism involved in their relationship, with a smidgeon of M&S thrown in: David the ‘Boss’ and Emma the ‘shy innocent’– Emma liked sending David tapes of her in bed whilst sleeping, or home movies of new injuries she managed to gain. David on the other hand liked to fantasize about Aliens having sex with earth women. As their relationship developed David became more brave in developing the fetishist theme and wanted Emma to do things like send him her knickers and he wanted her to wear a chastity belt (with spikes) that he would send her.

Along with David’s relationship with Emma, there was another relationship he was having with Elizabeth. David tried to bring the triangle together, and for a time things seemed to be going smoothly, but jealousies and possessiveness began to erupt and things started to fall apart as Emma and Elizabeth vied for the attentions of David. In a flash it was over.

Later, when Emma had been away from the influence of David for a while, and had had time to ponder and reflect on her turbulent relationship with him, she came to the conclusion that she had been taken for a ride by David, that he had not been honest with her – had used her only for his own needs and desires and did not really care for her or her stories. She decided to air David’s fetishes in public and created a website full of the once ‘fun’ telephone calls between her and David which showed clearly how kooky and downright weird he was. She distanced herself from any responsibility concerning it all by blaming David for everything and turning the once fun and intimate private conversations they had had when fantasizing with eachother, into a sordid tale of a Svengali (David) taking serious advantage of a meek, gullible, innocent and virginal Lolita (Emma).

Other people heard about the story and were shocked at what David had done – how he had used his Powerful and Magickal Hypnotic Powers against such a clearly wonderful and innocent ‘girl’. They were also incensed because they had been buying his books by the truckload for years and felt personally betrayed. The backlash against David was formidable — he was pilloried in public from pillar to post, no one was interested in his books anymore and his academic life crumbled.

David was gone in a puff of smoke. Never to be heard of again.

On the other hand Emma’s profile was enhanced and she could be found doing interviews all over the net, her website was getting a lot of interest. Heard many times: “if she wrote a book it would be a best seller”.

It’s true that her relationship with David had left scars – psychological scars. She said she had trouble with her memory – which was true memory and which was false memory – the fantasies she and David once had so much fun creating together.

Eventually Emma writes a book which becomes a best seller and she meets the love of her life — end of movie, Emma is asleep, her new boy friend in silhouette in the darkness over her…he turns….and there is a dim red glow in his eyes….camera moves forward…clarity increases and we see the truth…her new boyfriend is (stabbing orchestral jabs)…..an Alien Human hybrid! Agggghhhhh.

Credits.

It’s a salutary tale for anyone contemplating going down the same road.

__________________________

In response to my nasty post, ‘Emma Woods’  contacted me  and we had an exchange, here are some of the salient points Emma Woods made in response:

“Dr. Jacobs was an academic at Temple University, promoting himself as an expert in the area. I was referred to him by my former therapist for help with my experiences. We were not just “talking” to each other on the phone. He was conducting hypnosis with me, and he was in a position of power over me because of it. This power imbalance is the reason why it is crucial that hypnotists observe appropriate ethical guidelines in their conduct, because the person in the hypnotic state is in a vulnerable position.”

“Dr. Jacobs was leading me under hypnosis to confabulate traumatic false memories. I have provided audio on my website of him doing this. It is clear, in my opinion, that he has done this with numerous research subjects of his. It was a gross abuse of his position as a hypnotist.”

“I never had any intention of writing a book with Dr. Jacobs. To my knowledge Dr. Jacobs has never co-authored a book with any research subject of his.”

“I recorded myself with a video camera while sleeping, and took photos if unexplained marks on my body, as part of my research into my experiences, as many other experiencers have done. It was an entirely appropriate thing to do in the circumstances.”

“In my opinion, Dr. Jacobs probably was acting out personal fetishes of his. However, I was hypnotized at the time, recalling traumatic memories, and in that state I had no ability to assess what was going on. He used amnesia barriers to wipe my memory of parts of my hypnosis, and by the time that I ended my association with him, I had no conscious awareness that he had done these things. I only found out several years later when I listened to the recordings of the sessions. It is clear from what he says on the tapes that I was not the only research subject who he did this to.”

“I have made public serious psychological abuse of me by Dr. Jacobs as a matter of public interest.”

“I actually find doing interviews nerve-wracking. I have been asked to go on numerous shows, but I have only done a small number of them for this reason. I have made myself do it because I believe that there are serious issues at stake that are affecting real people’s lives.”

“It is my hope that what I have done in making this abuse known will help to protect other people in the future.”

“A recording of the first hypnotic induction that Dr. Jacobs performed on me is available here (I have edited out the places where he says my name and the place where I live):

http://www.ufoalienabductee.com/hypnosis-session-1-david-jacobs-hypnotic-induction.mp3″

“Dr. Jacobs used the same hypnotic induction procedure, more or less, in every hypnosis session that he conducted with me.”

“Dr. Jacobs sent me the recordings of my hypnosis sessions in digital format as well as audio tape, and with the digital files there was a recording of a hypnotic induction that I assume was from a course teaching people how to do hypnosis. It is almost identical to the induction that Dr. Jacobs uses, so I assume that he bases his technique on that.”

“I did not record any of the hypnosis sessions myself. Dr. Jacobs recorded them, and he sent them to me. It took between a few weeks to a few months for me to get the recordings of my sessions from him.

Dr. Jacobs did not ask me to provide all of the material. I volunteered a lot of it myself as I worked with him. For instance, if he conducted hypnosis with me on an experience that I had, I might send him photos of the people involved at that time, and so on. My former therapist likewise volunteered the information about himself.”

“It did not cross my mind to check with Temple University that Dr. Jacobs’ work was sanctioned and above board. He was currently employed by them, and they were fully aware of his work. I assumed that this meant that his work was aboveboard. Dr. Jacobs and I signed what he told me was a Temple University research consent form when he took me on as his research subject. The form cited Temple University, and guaranteed that my identity would be protected. Dr. Jacobs also gave me a verbal assurance of this. Temple University subsequently told me that the form citing them was “unauthorized” by them.”

“I was looking for answers about what was causing the experiences, and I thought that was what I was getting through the hypnosis.”

“I was doing a research project on my own experiences at the time, and I was recording them as they happened and writing a record of my past one, so that i could analyze the pattern of them later. However, I deliberately did not read much about other people’s experiences or Ufology at the time because I did not want to contaminate my own memories of my experiences while I was still writing them up. I had it in my mind that I would do that once my record was complete, before I did the analysis on them.”

.

.
.

.

.

.

.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.