eye of the cyclone

is there life on earth, or are we just dreaming…

  • USING THIS SITE

    SEARCH BOX: If a search engine brought you here, but you can't see what you are looking for, or if you want to find other entries with the same (or differerent) 'key words' try the SEARCH BOX! or check out the ALL POSTS! button in the MENU BAR at the top of the page

Daevid Allen interview…spirit, drugs

Posted by lahar9jhadav on February 19, 2008

daevid allen
who is daevid allen?
.
.
Daevid Allen, from an interview conducted in the nineties…i guess…a transcription from the audio…
.
.
“we’re living in this country of consumerism ,you know, and drugs are another form of consumerism. They’ve become the aperitif of the bourgeoisie .
.
“People used to think that drugs were really like, far out and kind of revolutionary and stuff: they’re not, they’re just another kind of bourgeoise aperitif that you buy in head shops, or the paraphernalia in headshops, it’s become a consumer item. And if one is really gonna take open-for-the-people to heart, and if one is really gonna try and change the world, then one has to see, one has to strip away everything that one’s depending on. And what is so curious is that people who are into health foods for example, and they’re into the alternative society and culture in so many ways, are still utterly dependent on them, like really heavily dependent on this one outrageous consumer item…which is outrageous because the profits that are being made on it, all the stuff that goes with it, the kind of atmosphere that hangs around it and so on, none of it is at all furthering finally, you know, if one is trying to go into a new world – it’s something one has to buy and one has to hustle and one has to score and one has to have paranoia about because it’s vaguely illegal, and also there’s the other element that because it’s vaguely illegal it becomes more colourful, or more kind of…er…it’s more of an adventure- you know, exciting or something like that, but less so now because who’s going to bust you for dope now, I mean there’s not too many people, I mean everyone smokes outrageously now.
.
.
“I used to find that when i first started smoking dope, it was about 1960, it was kind of outrageous and nobody much knew about it, and it was a real exciting thing to do, like a big adventure. But now I really see, well yeah ok…smoke dope but let’s not you know, give it any outrageous claims. It used to be capable of expanding consciousness and giving people a kind of spiritual direction, but it’s like counterfeit money, you know…it looks the same, the experience seems the same, but it’s really super-misleading, it takes you right along the wrong path- and people who get hooked into dope, after the first experience with dope, can just endlessly go up their own…er…mmm…spiralling up their own..how can I put that without having you shutdown..(laughter)oohh right up their own ‘basic cavity’ shall we say (laughing) because it’s not…what is it you know…it’s like er, it’s a big hallucination.
.
See, what I’m really interested in is Spirit and there’s a lot of other people interested in spirit ok, and people that are interested in spirit and are doing dope they’re not interested in spirit they’re interested in what dope gives. And this is the problem you know. And all that time that I was in spirit and I was doing dope I can now see super clearly that what I was seeing was dope hallucinations- I was not seeing spirit, there’s only one way to do spirit, and nothing can help you do spirit, nothing can help you get to spirit, anything you use to help you to get to spirit will distort spirit and dope is one of the biggest things to distort spirit, it really is. Because it’s so close that it gives you the impression you’re there and you’re so far away. You are just so far away.

.

“And so I just say with a heavy heart you know, to all those people that are on the path of dope spirit, man…it’s sad, because it…you know you have to just strip everything away…you have to not be a consumer…you have to just start with nothing, be in a desert with no clothes and no food and no water and above all no dope, and get there all by yourself, with no crutches, no first aid, nothing nothing nothing.

.

“Okay if you’ore just going to use dope to amuse yourself; to make life seem more spectacular, more colourful, more dramatic and stuff ok…it’s exactly the same as gin and tonic. Except it does more damage to your subtle bodies.

.

“It’s been proven by people who do psychic research and even by certain enlightened doctors, that alcohol being a much more unsubtle and obvious kind of a drug, before it does you that much harm makes you sick, physically sick. So there you’ve got these warning devices built in, I mean there you are throwing up in the garden or something before it actually starts to attack you psychically, but..um…particularly hash or coke or all these things they, even acid, they don’t make you sick but they can cause you’re aura, your subtle bodies, your etheric bodies and so on, to be feeding back and blowing out and collapsing and expanding and doing all these alarming things and there’s no real sort of physical…um…noticeable physical aftermath you know. So there are people doing this and they don’t have anything to stop them, they’re not in the garden throwing up, there’s nothing to revolt them and make them realize what they are doing. So therefore you can go much further with these things but they can also blow out your…the things that have been given to protect you, so therefore you get these people who believe they’re God, people who believe all kinds of weird things and they’re just screwed up and they’re in a complete dreamworld hallucinating they’re what they’re not and so on.

.

“And you can see it’s like a form of possession, it’s like they dont have any protection left against the elements around them, they’re on a kind of a low level half the time and on a high level the other half of the time – everyone would like to believe they’re on a high level all the time but they say things which are so alarming that they couldn’t possibly be coming from a higher place.

.

“It’s tremendously confusing once you get in the realm of drugs and mind expansion – it gets very confusing and dangerously confusing cause it’s so hard to tell, you know, where…what’s coming from where, you don’t have control and in the end i’m a control freak you know – I gave up dope because I couldn’t stand this feeling of not knowing what’s happening to me. I would be behaving in weird ways and I couldn’t really understand it, why I was behaving like that, the things I was saying why was I saying them, you know…I wasn’t in control, i was somewhere ‘out there’, and I used to think this was a good thing, like automatic writing, or like being a shaman or something like this, that there was something in psychic history which justified doing this kind of thing, but when it came down to reality, if I actually put my feet on the ground and looked at what I’d been doing, there was nothing to be proud of and there was nothing particularly good. I’d get stoned and I’d entertain myself and I’d have a great time and I’d think I was being wise, and I’d think I was being perceptive, but if I’d had a tape recording of myself or a video of myself doing this and if I would have looked at it straight, I was just making an arse of myself. I was entertaining myself. It’s the height of selfishness, dope. because what do you do: get stoned and everything you seem to be saying and doing seems to be, to you, to who else? to everybody whose stoned maybe, but if anyone is not stoned, if anybody else is just a naked person with no food and nothing in the desert – which is like you know trying to say this is kind of the reality of the human race that’s born- looking on, it would just look completely crazy, look like distorted consciousness.”

.

nevertheless

.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.